top of page




Rohe Moana Committee

‘tangaroa puukanohi nui”
(Big-eyed Tangaroa)
‘The god of the sea can observe all we are doing’

The Roopu Mana Moana is a subcommittee of the Patuharakeke Te Iwi Trust Board and is mandated to act on our behalf on all matters pertaining to customary fisheries.

Our kaitiaki are gazetted under the Fisheries (Kaimoana Customary Fishing) Regulations 1998. Our kaitiaki also include members of Ngati Kahu o Torongare, Te Parawhau and Ngati Tu hapu in recognition of the whanaungatanga throughout the harbour.

Customary fishing permits are available from the kaitiaki should you intend to harvest kaimoana within the rohe moana.


Members of the Roopu include:

  • Reece Newton

  • Shane Watson

  • Greg Smith

  • Crete Milner

  • Grant Pirihi

  • Hanna Pirihi Carrington

  • Waimarie Bruce

  • Tapa George

  • Ricky Solomon

The Roopu has developed a Draft Rohe Moana Management Plan based on the following Tikanga/Management Principles:

  • Kaitiakitanga

  • Whanaungatanga

  • Manaakitanga

  • Integrated Management

  • Enhancement

The Vision:

A healthy rohe moana that enables us to sustain our whanau and kainga and manaaki our manuhiri with kaimoana.

The Draft Plan is currently being revised and contains more information on management objectives, customary harvest rules and kaitiaki management tools. It will be uploaded soon.

Recent studies on Mair and Marsden Bank pipi beds can also be downloaded here.

bottom of page